Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Dirty Electric GENERAC Gasoline 8000 Watt Back Electrical Panel: SOLVED!

Status
Not open for further replies.

NJGUY

Military
Jan 31, 2021
US
DISCLAIMER: I AM A PLUMBER WHO THINKS HE KNOWS SOMETHING ABOUT ELECTRIC. OK?

Lost power at pole

Back Fed a 2 Pole 30 AMP breaker with a Generac 8000 WATT Gasoline. 12/3 WIRE. Also grounded circuit to the house 1" K Copper copper water main.

The entire house worked, TV, lighting, Internet, even latest componentry-based refrigerators, washing machines, dishwashing machine etc.

My house has two HVAC zones. Two separate Carrier HVAC Units (Natural Gas Heat) weeks old and they just did not seem to be playing nice with my Generac Gasoline generator. I could do some power resets and try and clear the led error code sequence (45 , 5 slow blinks followed by 4 fast blinks) which is all about the computer boards not liking some electrical current issues. This is documented with my system.

So, I went and installed a panel surge protector device in this 200 amp service.

Followed best practices, killed heating circuit(s) at the panel. Waited one hour.

No good. Same code, 45.

Seems that even though the surge arrestor protector was properly installed it could still not clean the dirty electric.

I actually got the heat on once briefly after this after more resets but only for like 2 hours before it stopped again back to code 45.

So I do not want to fry my boards.

My research compelled me to buy a 3500 WATT Inverter Generator (120 20 AMPS was my need). Real quiet by the way and uses very little gasoline vs. standard gasoline construction generators such as my afore mentioned 8000 watt Generac gasoline powered generator.