Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Distribution system voltage drop (480 VAC) during motor start 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

nhcf

Electrical
Oct 22, 2014
US
Is there an IEEE or similar standard for recommended max voltage drop on a 480 V distribution system during a motor start? I'm evaluating options for reduced voltage/soft start/VFD start for an existing installation - we can figure out what the transient voltage is, but I'm not sure of what voltage transient is considered too low. I've assumed a 15% drop is acceptable, but don't have a good basis for that.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I have had some experience with starting big (relative) motors on small systems. The biggest issue is short contact life due to the system not being able to maintain the Pull-Up Voltage during a start.

Screenshot_20221202-105735_oole31.png

I'd take a look at the NEMA standards for motor contactors. IIRC, per the NEMA standard, the contactor has to hold in down to 85% voltage. In reality, most will hold in at lower voltages. But any voltage drop in excess of 20% (80% voltage) is generally considered a problem. Also, the serving utility may impose requirements as well. Some utilities require reduced voltage starting if a motor exceeds a certain horsepower (regardless of actual voltage drop).

Dear Mr. nhcf (Electrical)(OP)2 Dec 22 17:43
" .... #1. Is there an IEEE or similar standard for recommended max voltage drop on a 480 V distribution system during a motor start?..... we can figure out what the transient voltage is, but I'm not sure of what voltage transient is considered too low. ... #2. I've assumed a 15% drop is acceptable, but don't have a good basis for that".