Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Do any other engineers feel they're "rusty"? How do you freshen up your skills?

Status
Not open for further replies.

joay11

Mechanical
Apr 4, 2011
US
After 20 years of experience as a mechanical "designer", I've never really truly challenged my analytical engineering abilities. 20 years removed from receiving a BSME even much of my termanology has become hazy; I found myself looking up the definition for Poisson's ratio and hoop stress recently. I'm a very strong designer but I'm embarrassed to call myself an "Engineer". How might I freshen up my skills relatively quickly (without taking long courses)? I need to freshening up on mechanics/strength of materials and (metal) materials science.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This topic would seem to be more appropriate if it were posted in the "How to improve Myself to Get Ahead in My Work" forum, found at:

John R. Baker, P.E.
Product 'Evangelist'
Product Engineering Software
Siemens PLM Software Inc.
Industry Sector
Cypress, CA
Siemens PLM:
UG/NX Museum:

To an Engineer, the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

Be an active participant in Eng-Tips [wink]

It is a capital mistake to theorise before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts. (Sherlock Holmes - A Scandal in Bohemia.)

Active at eng-tips.com helped me a lot. Deciding to develop and teach a class was a huge help.

David Simpson, PE
MuleShoe Engineering

Law is the common force organized to act as an obstacle of injustice Frédéric Bastiat

look into MIT opencourseware, crack open a book ...

Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati