Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Do I have to be a PE to do any engineering work on the side??? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Swlamech

Mechanical
Feb 22, 2010
US
Hello everyone,

I am a mechanical engineer and I have almost 4 years of experience in oilfield production\drilling equipment design. I am currently employed at a company that is not part of this field. I developed many of the procedures and methods used at my former company because they had never had an engineer on staff. Recently, employees from my previous company have struck out on their own and have asked me to basically do the job I used to have on the side. My current boss and company do not have a problem with this as long as it doesn't interfere. My question is this: Do I have to be licensed as a PE to do this work on the side ? It would include calculations, FEA, Material selection and procedure development. However I did all this before and I did not have my PE then either. I haven't taken the FE yet but plan to. Any Input ?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The utility of a PE is to establish credibility & procedural capability when work is done "for the public". For your situation I'd have to say "not required" since you're just trading hours of your experience & expertise for money.