Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Do we need a-lot of pressure gauges & flow meters, for our new piping system? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

amata42

Mechanical
Jul 18, 2012
US
Hello Members,

I am a new mechanical engineer here at this company. And we are designing a piping system for our facility. We are growing biological matter (plant cells, micro-organisms) in indoor water tanks. And we are doing the pipes, valves, sensors... water, air, & carbon dioxide. And, I am the only mechanical engineer (AND I'm entry level)... so I've never design and built a piping system.

The question came up: Should we get a-lot of pressure gauges & flow meters? so we can put all through-out the system... check pressure at different spots, check flow at different spots...

I believe the answer is: YES! YES, YES YES!!!

We have never done a piping system before. And frankly, I'm not really sure how the system is going to flow... Did I do calculations? Yes, of course. I did many calculations by hand and using ... BUT... we do NOT have pipe system design software (like PipeFlow Expert, etc). And flow & pressure gets a little complicated when you get networks & parallel flow, etc.

I'm trying to convince my boss to buy many pressure gauges & flow meters... but he doesn't want to buy many. He only wants to buy a few. It's because we're a start-up... small company. But I disagree. I think we should buy many. We don't have a-lot of money but we have some... (we have investors that have put in "some" money).

Let's put it this way...: we are NOT "super-tight"