Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Does Anyone Have Slab on Grade Example Calculations They Can Share?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tim_Crouse

Structural
Dec 28, 2020
US
Hello Engineers

My background is in electrical engineering but I am helping to design an equipment slab (which will eventually be reviewed by a PE).

I have designed the slab using the PCA method and Back checked it with the GRDSLAB spreadsheet that is available online.

Does anyone have a set of worked calculations that may be shared related to a Slab on Grade Design? I would really like to brush up on the math behind the PCA
method and the GRDSLAB spreadsheet. User R13 (as well as others provided some guidance to the full set of calculations that should be performed in a situation like this):

-Basic Slab on Grade Calculation, Eg slab thickness and reinforcement requirements (primarily for crack control in this situation)

-Eccentric loading of the slab as only 2/3rds of the slab will hold equipment, the other 3rd is for future use

-Wind Loading on of Non-Structural Components

-Seismic Verification of the Designed Equipment Slab

If anyone has suggestions or design tips for slabs on grade please share :)
-For example, is there a minimum psi requirement for concrete when anchors will be embedded? I came across an article that 4,000 psi is required when embedding achors.
I never came across that before so it was a surprise to me.

-When dealing with a #57 aggregate subbase course how is the compaction properly defined on the prints as you cannot actually compact stone.
I currently have it defined as "Tightly interlock such that all excess volume is removed"