Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Does this compliant material exist? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

rfdesign1

Electrical
Sep 14, 2016
US
I am not a materials engineer. I am looking for a compliant material with the following qualities:

1. Shore 'A' hardness of 30 - 50, preferably 35-40
2. Density of 0.5 oz/cu in (0.86gram/cc)
3. Able to be produced in a hemispherical shape of radius 0.85" inch, with a hollowed out hemispherical core of radius ~0.5"

Two of these put together form a 1.7" dia. sphere that can encapsulate a smaller 1" sphere in the hollowed out portion.

Is there a moldable rubber, silcone, sponge rubber, or other material that fits the hardness and density spec'd above and can be economically produced in the shape described? Where should I be looking to search for a suitable material?

Thank you,
Dave

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

1. possible
2. quite low, but possible
3. shape is not an issue for elastic materials

Economically possible: depends on the quantity of spheres. Does the type of rubber matter?

Just about any rubber would work, with perhaps some degree of foaming or other void formation to reach the density you want. Urethanes would be where I would start, if only because they can be easily mixed and poured into cheap molds in the R+D lab; but there are other materials that might mold more readily in a production shop, and your quantity will dictate price in the end.

Oh, and urethanes are good at post-cure adhesion, i.e. if you are planning to glue two pieces together, urethane will do that better than, say, silicone.

Additionaly you have to see material compatibility on your specific application
i.e Urethane is not recommended if the piece is going to be exposed to denaturated alcohol
Butyl is not recommended if it is going to be exposed to fatty acids and so on

Thank you btrueblood.

Is the foaming for achieving desired density in urethane expensive?