Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Early stage of career 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

BulbTheBuilder

Structural
Aug 18, 2021
US
I got out of college last year and I have been working in a structural firm for a couple months. We mainly do industrial designs and it's a little overwhelming and intense considering what is involved in designing industrial structures. I have been reading extensively on books for industrial facilities such as the ASCE books for petrochemical facilities and other.

My undergrad wasn't in U.S so I learnt the standards and codes in European codes, moved here for masters and was mainly doing research. I took other design courses (prestressed conc, adv steel design, steel connection) which helped familiarised myself with the U.S codes. I review the US codes and IBC from time-to-time to know more.

I have been reading often for the past months, not just as preparation towards P.E exams, but for work as well. I have been reviewing some structural analysis books together with P.E exams books, I do this from Mondays-Wednesdays (2hrs after work). Thursdays-Fridays is for my python lessons (I am trying to learn python), and Saturdays-Sundays is for Revit.

Although, I am at the early phase of my career it feels like a lot. It's like so much is expected of you when you're "smart" and had "excellent" grades. I used to work roughly 50hrs a week as I am involved heavily in most of the projects as a junior structural engineer. But I am looking at reducing it to 40-45, slow pace myself, get more time for myself.

Can those of you have been in the industry for long shed light on how to navigate early stages of your career? Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Everybody's situation is different. I think the early stages of your career are great to be a sponge, and also a good time to ensure your work-life balance is intact. Establish your boundary now, because it is bound to be pushed as you age.