Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Easy question

Status
Not open for further replies.

eeprom

Electrical
May 16, 2007
US
Hello all,
I'm an electrical engineer, not an HVAC person. And this question might be too easy for this forum. I wouldn't waste your time here, but it's about impossible to get a manual for a home furnace. And if you call the manufacturer, they won't give you tech support unless you are a contractor, even if you paid for the heater.

So, here goes.... My furnace control board died and I replaced it with a substitute Honeywell board. My original board is no longer made. I wired it up and everything works fine, except now my blower fan runs continuously at a low speed. It only goes to a high speed when the heater comes on. This low speed continuous running is new to me.

I traced this back to a terminal on the control board named CONT (which, of course, means continuous). That terminal is hot for all conditions. And according to the schematic on the door, it is supposed to make the blower run at all times except when the heater is on. When the heater is on the blower motor is energized at a higher speed. Otherwise the motor runs at a lower speed through the CONT terminal. If I disconnect the CONT connection, the heater works exactly like it used to.

So, what's with the CONT connection? What's the purpose of this? Is it optional? Can I leave it disconnected?

Thank you for humoring me.

EE

Replies continue below

Recommended for you