Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Economic transfer of acidic flue gas 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

tuanjim

Chemical
Apr 29, 2005
AU
Hi,

I am a process/chemical engineer with very little experience in moving gases and am hoping that some of the experts out there might be able to help me out with what I see as a fairly tough design problem.
The process I am involved with requires that we transport flue gas from an exhaust stack which is under slightly negative pressure about 450 ft to another part of the process which will remain under pressures just above atmospheric (i.e. approx. 0.05 inches of water). Due to the fact that gas is the by-product of coal combustion it has quite a high moisture content along with other acid gases which will condense on cooling and potentially chew up most types of equipment. We have quite severe economic constraints on how we can run this system but in an attempt to mitigate most of the acid gases (which also interfere with our end product) we were planning on trying to condense the moisture prior to the blowers via cooling loops and a knock-out/ moisture collection drum in which we may control the liquid level such that flue gas is bubbled through it at a low depth in order to promote dissolution of the acid compounds. At the pilot level the gas flow rate would be around 150 lpm but at full scale would probably be around 1000 times this. The gas will flow through the next stage of the process and then return to the exhaust stack.
You are probably already realizing I have no idea regarding the subtleties of gas handling but what I am really hoping is that: