Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Editing an Excel Formula with assigned range names 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveGregory

Structural
Jul 18, 2006
US
When I click on the formula window to edit an Excel formula (2007), the cell range names revert to their col-row cell references. Is there a setting that will make the cell range names stay put while I edit the formula?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't seem to have a problem with that, but I don't see any obvious settings that would account for that.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!

I can position the cursor at each cell reference in the formula and press F4 to change the cell reference back to a range name. However, the next time I start to edit the formula, the range names revert to cell references as soon as I place the cursor in the formula bar and I have to start all over again with the F4 key.

The Lotus compatibility was unchecked. I thought that this would be an easy question. I tried saving my xls spreadsheet to xlsx to see if that would help. Frustrated???

Can you post a copy of the spreadsheet?

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!

Steve - on my machine (running Xl2010) your wood spreadsheet did have the Lotus compatibility boxes checked. and the steel spreadsheet didn't.

When I deselected the boxes in the wood spreadsheet the range names went back to cell addresses, but if I re-applied the names they then stayed put.