Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Efficiency of Natural Gas Transport through Pipelines 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsi1612

Electrical
Oct 29, 2003
US
Hello, I am an electrical engineer employed by an electric utility. I was wondering how much energy it takes to transport natural gas through a typical size gas pipeline used in interstate transport of natural gas. Assume no gas is leaked. It is my understanding in gas transport, the energy used(losses)to transport gas is consumed by compressor stations.

Following is an example for a high voltage transmission line. I would like someone in the gas industry to provide their own example for gas transport.

Here's my example from the electrical side calculating efficiency of energy transport. These are actual.

Source: 345 kV high voltage bus (industry standard high voltage - electrical energy has been stepped-up)
Destination: 345 kV h.v. bus
Distance between bus: 100 miles
Conductor: parallel 795 kcmil aluminum conductors (industry standard conductor size)
Rate of Energy Transported: 400 megawatts
Answer(percent power lost in transmission due to resistance in conductor):
1.82%/100 miles.
Meaning, for every unit of energy put in at the source bus, 98.18% is available at the destination bus.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

As gas flows through a long pipeline the friction of the gas on the pipe wall causes the pressure to decrease. You can best understand the relationship if you look at Bernoulli's Theorem in any basic fluid flow book. Assume no elevation change (elevation head) and that the velocity change is very small or insignificant (usual case in a gas transmission line) and you will see that the change in static pressure corresponds to the friction loss.

A compressor station then boosts the pressure back up.