Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

ejection question

Status
Not open for further replies.

dav612

Mechanical
Dec 21, 2003
US
First off, let me state that I am new at this and am building knowledge as I go. So just bear that in mind.

I have recently purchased a nissei 120ton electric machine to make some parts. I am in the mold design process and have a question about the electric ejector rods/bars.

How do they hook up to the ejector plate? Two of the bars are flat an the one in the middle has a tapped hole in it. Am I supposed to bolt the middle ejector bar to the injector plate for ejector return? Do I still need ejector return pins that go through the B plates and contact the A plates. What about springs?

The problem I am having trouble grasping is how do set the retract distance for the ejector plate. If it is set to little the ejector pins will not retract all the way causing obvious problems. If I set the return on the ejector bar to a number that would want to cause the pins to bottom out and try to over travel it slightly, will the machine hold the ejector pins back? If this is the case the only reason for ejector return pins would be a safety precaution to keep the pins from being damaged.

The minimum set distance for the ejector system is in increments of .01mm; one setting will not return the pins enough and the next will try to over travel the ejector system. Will it cause problems if I try to over travel the ejector system on the return side by .05mm or such?

Thanks in advanced for any help,

David

Replies continue below

Recommended for you