Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Electric boiler with highly variable pressure

Status
Not open for further replies.

DesktopBuffalo

Mechanical
Feb 6, 2012
US
Hello,

The lab I do work for has asked for a boiler system that will create steam at anywhere they choose from 60psi to 1400psi, for some experiments they would like to run. Ideally, it would have an electric boiler, as it will be working in a lab environment. I have limited background in this area, and I was hoping you guys could answer a few questions for me:

1) Is it even possible to build a boiler system with that much variation in the operating pressures?

2) My research seems to indicate that electric boilers generally top out around 500psi, although this thread ( names a few companies that may be able to produce it. Still, a boiler designed to run at 1400psi will be hilariously overdesigned when running at 60psi, correct?

Thanks for your help. If the answer is "It's just not possible," then that's probably a good thing. I'll have to talk them into lowering their requirements somewhat.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Are there any steam purity requirements for the process, will it have to be superheated? If there is, it may make you available selection pool even even more narrow. I've used small oil/gas fired forced flow steam generators (Vapor & Clayton) along with an accumulator for PRV testing in the past. I do not know if they make anything electric, I've not used that equipment in years. The output pressure set-point was sufficiently adjustable in order to allow us testing of PRVs from 150 to nearly 1500 psi.
Good luck with your search.