Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Electrical contractor's resposibility to provide components

Status
Not open for further replies.

I am a civil engineer by training involved in construction management of a wastewater pumping station project. The electrical design has provided a schematic diagram of the electrical requirements and in notes and specifications, indicated the electrical contractor should provide and install all components required by the NEC. The schematic does not include an in-ground pull box that is necessary by code and the contractor is maintaining that this will amount to extra work and additional costs. The position that the electrical designer and I have taken is that the contractor should have realized the need for the pull box when he was preparing his bid and that there is no extra work involved. The cost of the pull box is minor relative the overall electrical portion of the contract. Does the contractor have a legitimate argument?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Assuming typical contract, the contractor is responsible for "means and methods" for construction and therefore should have realized that there might be a need for a pull box and should have included it in their bid at minimum. There should not be any additional cost.

"Throughout space there is energy. Is this energy static or kinetic! If static our hopes are in vain; if kinetic — and this we know it is, for certain — then it is a mere question of time when men will succeed in attaching their machinery to the very wheelwork of nature". – Nikola Tesla

If the contract is an AIA contract, the engineer must response to the proposed change order by denying it and referencing where in the contract the proposed extra work is included. sounds like you have the details covered, you just need the engineer put it in writing.

Don Phillips