Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Electromagnet assembly questions regarding friction, attractive force, and application design.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Witrebel

Mechanical
Jun 24, 2013
US
Hey guys,

I have what I assume for you will be a rather simple question. I am a summer intern at a semiconductor manufacturer and I am building a drop tester for the reliability department. I want to catch and release the free fall mass using an electromagnet.

The free fall mass is approx 2lbs and I was planning on having it machined from A2 Tool steel.
The guide rails are 1/2 inch dia 1556 steel rods.
The magnet I planned to use was a DC electromagnet from Mcmaster having what I believe is a radial pole arrangement. It would be 1.25 inch dia.

The idea is that the electromagnet rides on a linear actuator, so that when it engages the free fall mass, the mass can be elevated, and then when the magnet is turned off, the mass is released into free fall, subsequently generating an impact.

I am worried about the interaction of the guide rail with the free fall mass and the electromagnets.
1) Is it likely that the free fall mass and the guide rails will be subjected to an attractive force? This would pose a problem as an attractive force between them would result in increased friction and thus increased wear. Not to mention the extra strain on my linear actuator.
2) Is it likely that the guide rails themselves would be drawn towards the electromagnet itself, resulting in friction between the rail and the electromagnet?
3) Is it possible that the rail would become a shunt for the magnetic field, and that I would not get any attractive force between the free fall mass and the