Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Electronic Steering 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roktgr

Mechanical
Feb 9, 2007
US
Considering an electric steering system for an off-road vehicle in lieu of a full hyrdo system. I have limited experience with this type of system. I did work on one a few years ago in which we used a linear actuator and rotary position sensor connected to the steering wheel. The system worked but due to weight the idea was scrapped.

I do have a few concerns about such a system though.
What rate of travel would be needed. While operated mostly off-road minor on-road travel would be required. Since it's for an off-road vehicle often the steering is used to push the vehicle off rocks, ect. Would it be safe to assume the power output to be close to half the vehicle weight or the whole vehicle weight? Is heat going to be an issue? From what I have found so far internal heat generated will cause the motor to slow down or even shut down. Whatelse should I be looking at.

Reasons for doing this is it's not been done that I know of. Less trouble then dealing with hydraulic lines, pumps, rams.
Many people are running full hydro with no reliability problems and I wouldn't see why and electric system would be any different.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sure it is, all depends on your vehicle laws per state. To be street legal in the state I live in all you need are headlight, brake lights, and a plate. Everything else can be completely custom.

Umm

Where do you live. I would like that info so I know to avoid it.

Any steering system that does not have a continuous mechanical link between steering wheel and road wheel is pretty scary.