Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

emergency cooling using decay heat 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Windward

Mechanical
Dec 25, 2002
US
In an emergency shutdown. a nuclear plant requires on-site generators to drive the emergency cooling pumps. I am wondering why the decay heat is not used. Of course that is a simple way of describing a complex system, if one is possible. I am not a nuclear engineer, but I guess it is not wrong to speak of decay heat.

This would not be important if the shutdown lasts only a few days, maybe up to a month. The diesel fuel might last that long. But if most or all of the grid goes down for a long time, because of cyberwar or a solar storm or an EMP, most if not all nuclear plants would run out of diesel fuel long before the grid comes back. A cooling system using the decay heat might be all that stands between life and death. What other source of power could there be?

I know the decay heat declines. Could we still use it for long-term emergency cooling?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

"...In nuclear reactor engineering, decay heat plays an important role in reactor heat generation during the relatively short time after the reactor has been shut down (see SCRAM), and nuclear chain reactions have been suspended. The decay of the short-lived radioisotopes created in fission continues at high power, for a time after shut down..."

In an planned, orderly shutdown that decay heat probably is used to generate electricity for a while. In an emergency shutdown something has gone wrong with the reactor so completely independent systems are required to provide reliability.

In the case of a failure of the grid, nothing has gone wrong with the reactor. After it is shut down, the core is still hot and it is producing more heat by 'decay' of the fuel. To prevent the disaster of a meltdown, the core must be cooled for some considerable time after shutdown.