Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Employing ChemE background for Alternative Energy Career

Status
Not open for further replies.

kingbiscuit

Chemical
Jun 7, 2008
US
This is maybe not the right forum for this, but I am looking to get involved in alternative energy research/process design etc.

I graduated with a ChemE degree in 2002 from KU, so I don't know if companies would even be interested in me anymore. I am currently working in the pharmaceutical industry because I was thinking after college that I would want to go into bio-engineering, but I am hoping I can get into alternative energy industry. Pharma work can get a little routine and FDA regs are a drag. The favorite part of my job is changing the procedures and improving the process. I guess I am a Chem E at heart.

I am interested in cellulosic technologies/geothermal energy/algae biofuels. Anybody have any ideas on where I could get started in looking for jobs. I know that all of these industries must involve ChemE's because there is alot of heat transfer, extractions, and distillations going on. I just thought maybe I would get some insight here from someone in the field.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Kingbiscuit
I wish you the best of luck. It seems to me startlingly obvious that first we need to stop consuming the worlds resources faster than they are produced and second, the present situation is that there is a vast waste of resources going on. (for example being dragged down by inappropriately applied FDA regs that stop improvements but that's another issue)