Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

End Moment Magnification in SP Column

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcc202

Structural
Jan 15, 2009
US
It is my understanding of ACI that when analyzing concrete columns subject to sway that the end moments obtained from a second order analysis may be utilized in lieu of magnifying the end moments, but we would still be obligated to check moment magnification along the member length. Is there a way to turn off end moment magnification in SP Column, but leave on the member length moment magnification? We are analyzing frames in RAM using a P-Delta analysis, but completing the column design in SP Column.

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am not an expert user of SP column and am unable to open it at the moment. But does the code point to you back to the nonsway method for member length moment magnification so you could run SP Column using non sway to the get that information. Then there is probably some hand calcs you would need to wrap everything up ie combine your results to get the final design loads and final column design.

Yes...in a round about way. ACI references 6.6.4.5 for the calculation of member length slenderness effects, which is the Non-Sway Moment Magnification Method. I suppose I could then run SP Column as Non-Sway with the 2nd order moments input from our Ram 2nd Order Analysis. That's what I was leaning towards doing, I just needed a sanity check.

Well, as soon as you check Non-Sway in SP Column, you loose your K factor. So I may be doing this by hand.

Thanks for the reply.

mcc202 said:
Well, as soon as you check Non-Sway in SP Column, you loose your K factor. So I may be doing this by hand.
K maxes out as 1 for the non-sway magnification procedure.