Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Engineer that is worth-to-be-employed

Status
Not open for further replies.

shvet

Petroleum
Aug 14, 2015
RU
Good day, forum
Actually I don't know how to ask my question.

I am a petrochemical process engineer that lives in a developing country, better to say in a hardly developing country. And I am not satisfied with how engineer's work is managed and overall business is carried on. So I would like to change industry sector from developing to developed country and therefore place where I and my family live. I understand that I can't move to another company/country and say: "Hallo guys! Now I work/live here! Good place, move a little."

My questions are:

1. What is your experience concerned process engineers in developed and developing countries?
Is there any difference? Salary, social benefits, professional capacity, freedom degree, prestige, personnel management, sound competition and so on and on. All kind of things we call "work".

2. What qualities/skills I should acquire to become let's call it "worth-to-be-employed"?
Fluent language or multi-language speaker but only in petrochemical process engineering? Excellent process engineering knowledge or facilities operation and maintenance? Feasibility design or process modeling or detailed design or commissioning or existing facilities revamp/reconstruction? Risk based approach and risk assessment or traditional design? Any thoughts would be great as I don't know which answers I seek.

3. What qualities/skills are most sought by employers that are, let's call them "worth-to-work-in"?

I intentionally don't ask how to be employed because this is a postponed question. As per my experience it's not so hard to find a work in an occidental company.