Engineering Fee vs. Hourly Rate 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

bumbler

Structural
Apr 15, 2022
US
Hi all,
I'm just curious about what the typical ratio of engineering hourly rate charged to clients vs hourly rate that an employee receives is. My previous employer charged about 4x my hourly rate to clients, and my current employer charges just under 3x my hourly rate. The previous employer had over 100 employees and the current one has under 10. I work as a structural engineer designing almost exclusively buildings. Is this typical? Where does the money go?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Where does the money go???? Use your imagination

-Insurance (Health Insurance, professional liability, general liability, dental, workmans comp etc)... a crappy health insurance plan for a small family is easily $20k+/year/family...(could be $30k/year/family with no out of pocket expenses) but you may pay a % of that out of your paycheck.
-401k match
-Payroll taxes (unemployment/social security etc... employer pays 1/2of these.... if you are self employed you pay all of these)
-Office space rent
-Software licenses (these are starting to get up there)
-Vehicle reimbursement (some employees may get company vehicles or car stipends)
-Computer/software upgrades
-Phone (land and cell)/Internet ect
-Continuing education
-Professional licensure fees
-Office supplies
-Support staff (Secretaries/plan administrators)

The list is quite long

Lots of costs to run a business that people don't even realize that can eat up a ton of $.

3x is typical. 4x isn't surprising for a really large firm - they have the heft to get the big, high margin jobs. They also have management that gets paid more, and probably share holders that want their piece of the pie. Typical firm operating costs will be about 2.6667x salary with 0.3333x salary going to profit margins.