Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Engineering Project Management Software

Status
Not open for further replies.

AustProjEng

Mechanical
Apr 12, 2012
AU
Hi, I'm currently in the progress of preparing gantt charts for a project, timelines etc and microsoft project is an OK tool. Can anyone reccomend some visually appealing or more user friendly project management software? I'm working on a 200 room mine site expansion and although its not big I would like to produce a semi impressive and flexable timeline for my client to follow. Our company has only 5 engineers and I'm a mechanical engineer, the rest are civils/mechanical and so we dont really do much work on the management side however it is becoming more and more obvious that it is a critical part in the process from design to construction and we need a better management system than the one we have. Any help at all would be great. Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Well you seem to have five requirements.

visually appealing
user friendly
semi impressive
flexable timeline
a better management system

I'd also suggest a spellchecker.

I'm no great fan of Project but it looks pretty, any old hack can use it, nobody has ever been impressed by a Gantt chart and your last two need better definition.

Personally if I want to run a schedule exactly to my taste then I use a spreadsheet, not some mickey mouse bit of visual basic.

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376

I manage a lot of Oil & Gas onshore construction projects and have tried several of the very expensive high-end project management tools. None of them make sense for projects less than 2 years duration. For anything quicker than a couple of years I use MicroSoft Project.