Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Engineering Resume Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

wdallis

Mechanical
Mar 21, 2018
US
Hello everyone, I have a couple quick questions regarding engineering resumes. First of all I am a non-traditional student, 27 years old, pursuing a graduate degree in mechanical engineering and am curious if I should be structuring my resume differently from individuals younger than me. I’ll give you all a little information about my past. I grew up on a cattle ranch and the vast majority of my work experience up until I was 19 was agricultural based. After high school I obtained an associate’s degree and began working as a sound technician. I then worked in the sound industry full time for a couple years until I began engineering school. The first couple years of engineering school I worked part time, mainly in the summers and on weekends, both in the agricultural and sound industries until I got a job working for an engineering research arm of the university that I attend. I then interned at this research center up until I graduated with a BSME last August and transitioned to working as a graduate student at the same place. I will be graduating in December with a MSME so I am in the process of updating my resume to begin the search for full time engineering employment.