engineering salaries 20

Status
Not open for further replies.

ballist

Automotive
Feb 28, 2016
US
hi!

I work as a trainee in a large automaker in UK. The pay is decent, comparing to other sectors, but not considerably. Graduates start with 30k, reaching 38k in 4 years. Then, it is a bit hard to become senior, in order to earn 50-60k. Some people after 7-10 years haven't become seniors. After that, it's harder to become supervisor (I guess you need 10+ years) and supervisors earn 60-80k. To become chief engineer or director, it's even harder and comes after 20 years of service at least.

Is there any department I could try to get in to earn a bit more or have better career progression? Maybe legal or finance or IT? Any advice please?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Ballist, you're on an Engineering web site to ask if you can earn more money in a non engineering role?

A. Perhaps ask in legal-tips.com or finance-tips.com or similar.
B. This implies you don't have a strong interest in being an Engineer but are primarily chasing £ - is that correct? If so then yes you may want to look at careers outside of engineering. Most rapid career progression would probably be as your own boss - if you can pull it off. Unless you're the next Mark Zuckerberg or similar though it may not match your expectations - especially as you don't have experience to build on by the sounds of it.

Posting guidelines faq731-376 (probably not aimed specifically at you)
What is Engineering anyway: faq1088-1484

What exactly do YOU want to do? If it's about chasing the almighty pound sterling or dollar, then you're not really an engineer, and you will mostly be both miserable and unsuccessful, since anything that you attempt to do that isn't your passion will likely result in less enthusiasm and yield less than your best efforts. If that's what you're chasing, then you should be in petroleum engineering.
TTFN
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!