Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Engineers Responsibilty

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeySol

Structural
Jul 26, 2006
US
So I work as an engineer for a truss company and have been getting more and more requests from other structural engineers about truss designs we performed 10+ years ago. They want this information because they will be installing solar panels on the roof and want info to help them figure out if the roof is suffiecient for the new loads. I have only been here 5 years so all of these requests are for jobs I had no part in designing. Plus, are they also asking the Engineer of record for the structural and foundation designs?

My question is what responsibilty do I have to provide this information? We only have hard copies of some of these jobs and they are in storage and we could spend at least a few hours to find the requested info. Can I or should I charge them for this time (not at my full rate of course)? Do we actually have to provide this info or is it just a courtesy to the other engineer? What would they do if they couldn't get this info.

I am sure were not the only ones getting these requests so how are other companies handeling this?

Thanks for the help in advance...

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You have no obligation to provide this information. If it is burdensome, then charge for it. Establish a standard rate for providing such and be ready to charge it when they call. You might even establish a request form that you could fax or email to them that provides some protective language for the re-use of your designs (in particular, an indemnification of the engineers involved and the company for providing the information).