Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Entering the Field of Aerospace engineering by getting an AME (Canada) 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Triflexer

Mechanical
Jun 22, 2017
CA
Hi all,

I am a mechanical engineering student who wanted to get his foot in the door of the aerospace/aeronautical engineering field once i graduate next year. I unfortunately didn't have an opportunity to work during my degree in the field but in my last year, I will be specializing in aerodynamic related courses, such as: aerodynamics, aircraft structural analysis, Computational fluid dynamics and heat transfer, etc.

My question is, would getting an aircraft maintenance engineering license help me enter the field (since I don't have the experience to back me). When looking at entry level jobs, a lot of them want 3 or 5 years of experience as a requirement. I'm just trying to plan out the steps towards getting into this field which has been my goal since the start of my degree. Any wise words would be much appreciated.

Have a great day :)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

An AME license opens some doors, but to some extent closes some.

If you work as an engineer in the industry, your AME license doesn't really gain you anything (other than a view of the real world, which is of course very useful).

But if you want to work as a mechanic, then your AME is fundamentally required (but your B.Eng isn't and you won't really be working as an engineer ... you'll be implementing other people's engineering, to a large extent). Sure you can do some work (very simple repairs) on small planes as an AME, but nothing (I think) on anything larger than a single engine recreational airplane.

another day in paradise, or is paradise one day closer ?