Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Enviromental Engineer Student....Color Blind 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enviroman95

Civil/Environmental
Sep 17, 2013
US
I am currently an Environmental Engineer student and I am color blind. How will this affect my employment opportunities when I graduate? I can see colors good but get confused with light greens and light reds. Please help me [ponder]

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am a civil and structural engineer with exactly the same problem. Always had it. Just don't go Electrical and you will be OK. [wavey2]

Mike McCann
MMC Engineering

I just fear I won't be able to read pH test strips [sadeyes]
Is there a newer method Enviro's use besides the inaccurate test strips? Me and 4 other people once argued whether the sample we were testing was an acid or base...everyone had their own opinion.
It's the 21st century and we're still using test strips?! Why not use a machine that is more accurate than human color "opinion"? That's really all it is...There's NO WAY you can tell if we are seeing the same thing...We shouldn't be wasting all that paper anyways...I hate when it gets soggy and falls apart [thumbsdown]

Enviroman95...battery operated field pH meters are more accurate and they don't care if you're color blind. Just take a bottle of distilled water along and you'll be fine.