Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

EPANET inlet/outlet pipe for tank, water level in tank

Status
Not open for further replies.

boedekek

Geotechnical
Jun 5, 2013
Hello everyone

I am new to EPANET and am trying to run a water quality simulation within a network of piping. I have an older tank that has a single pipe connected to it. This pipe functions as an inlet/outlet pipe between the tank and the network (water flows out of tank when demand is required in the network and towards the tank to ensure the water level in the tank stays within the optimal range). What method should I use so that the pipe connected to the tank is able to flow in either direction depending on the water level within the tank? Should I use a control-based rule controlling the behavior of a pump and/or valve located on the pipe connected to the tank? Are there alternative ways? The final question I had pertained to the required initial, min, and max water levels parameters you must insert into the tank editor window. Are these levels the actual water level in the tank or the water level + the base elevation of the tank?

Thanks for any help
Kent Boedeker

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Unless there are control valves on the tank inlet/outlet, it's just a regular pipe and one that doesn't care which direction the flow is moving.