EPDM vs SBR Rubber 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Savalikom

Chemical
Mar 28, 2018
KE
Hi everyone!

I am a QC manager for a stove manufacturing company. We are in the process of ordering EPDM components from an overseas supplier. This is after we tested the components with SBR grade rubber and it didn't perform well. My question is, when I receive the EPDM components, what QC tests can I perform to ascertain what has been sent is actually EPDM and not SBR?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Interesting you should start with parts made from SBR, Savalikom. Why did you do this? How close are the parts to the heat source and to what sort of temperatures are they subjected? It could be that EPDM-based compounds wouldn't withstand the service demands and silicone rubber parts mights be a better option.

forumtowers.com

Heat Aging. The parts are exposed to heat of up 130C. SBR couldn't withstand that sort of temperatures. Silicone would be the last option if EPDM didn't work but for now it's working fine.

Burn a small sample. If the try to smear the ashes and they are very smooth, it probably is EPDM. If the ashes are dry and hard you might have SBR (or other types of rubber).

Properly formulated EPDM with peroxide cure should be able to withstand 130°C. If there is contact with glass, you might want to test contact staining. (glass itself isn't an issue, but special coatings on the glass might be a problem)

Thanks very much Metten for your response. There is no contact with glass. The EPDM parts will be in contact with galvalume sheet of 0.7mm in thickness. Are there any safety concerns when burning the rubber?

Just cut a very small strip: few centimeters long, few millimeters thick. Burn that for 1-2 seconds and extinguish. You should have enough ashes to drop on a paper without the paper catching fire. By the time someone alerts your safety personel, you can get rid of the paper and open a window, only the sooted finger is left as evidence.