Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Eporting Excel to a Database Application

Status
Not open for further replies.

bpeirson

Structural
Apr 7, 2003
CA
A few years ago I started to create a small data base in excel. Part numbers in column A then specific information in columns B through G.

This worked well with the limited number of parts we dealt with. Now with time the list has grown to over 5800 items.

I feel it is now more efficient to use a true database application to access this information.

Does anyone know of a database application which can easily import data structured for Excel at a reasonable cost (less than $200.00), and give the ability to modify the data depending on external conditions (take the cost from the database and mark up differently based on who is purchasing).

I have limited experience with databases so the obvious answers may not be obvious to me.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Do you mean define the formulae by giving them a function name in excel or do you want me to describe them to you so you can tell me if they are "crazy"?

Describe them. Are you looking is 15 diffent workbooks, for input variables that feed into a huge lookup table that changes based on a seperate input? OR, are they more like, Column A * interger / integer + integer?

The best situation would be that I type part numbers and the client name into Access which then gets part information from workbook "A" and client information from workbook "B". Access would then multiply the cost from workbook "A" by the markup from workbook "B".

If we win the job then I would type a PO number into access which would then get information from workbook "C" regarding how to make the items ordered.