EQUATIONS FOR API-650 CURVES LIKE P-2A/B/C/D etc

Status
Not open for further replies.

UbaidUllah65

Mechanical
Jun 11, 2011
SA
Friends,

I am a piping engineer and am working on a software for evaluating Nozzles connected to API-650 based tanks.
Anybody worked on developing the equations for various curves?
It will be useful if some body could share.

BR,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes, a number of companies have developed the equations you are asking (software like E-Tank, Tank by Coade/Integraph, Tank by Chempute). I'm sure if you look up the internet, someone else might have developed their own software and wiling to share.
Cheers,
gr2vessels

Thanks gr2 as i am also looking for the same, But E tank do not have this facility as we are the user. we have to perform manually.

I'm looking at these curves now. It doesn't look like there is enough data. There is just two L/2a curves?

I think the way to do this is the following

do a linear curve fit for every curve.

Calculate all the curves at the given R/t Then interpolate using L/2a and a/r to get an appropriate value.

UbaidUllah65,
I'm working through the procedures myself at the moment. I curvefit every given curve and evaluated at a given L/2a and r/t. I am interpolating on a_r and debating which interpolation method to use. Is it better to use linear or to use quadratic interpolation?

-Jeff

I used Linear.

I spent more than two months in using different approaches later had to do the curve fitting for curves between the ones given in the figures.

Best of luck.

The linear doesn't seem to match the example problem. (2.36E-04
versus 3.0e-4). Looking at the graph I wonder if a quadratic scheme would work better. I wish they would give the derivation for these curves, that may give some insight into the best interpretation scheme. These codes so often seem to lack an evident background. Does anyone know the author is? Is anything published?