Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Equivalent Length (Piping) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

StructIntern

Structural
Feb 1, 2011
CA
I am not a Mechanical guy. However, I was wondering if someone can explain the concept of equivalent length in piping for an outsider. Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

StructIntern,
You did not give us anything as background to go on so I am just taking a shot in the dark.

a. Straight pipe will cause a flowing fluid or gas to have a pressure drop per lineal measure (feet or meter) due to friction.

b. A fitting such as an elbow (of the same material, size and wall schedule as the pipe) will have a pressure drop greater than the pipe due to the shape. This pressure drop is expressed in "Equivalent Lengths of pipe"

c. A valve will also have a pressure drop greater than the pipe due to the configuration of the valve internals. This pressure drop is also expressed in "Equivalent Lengths of pipe"

d. Google "Pressure drop in piping systems" and spend some time studying what you find there.

To add on to pennpiper's post:

The reason to express the pressure drop in "equivalent feet of pipe" is so that the piping system designer can ensure that all components will work together and you can get the fluid moved from Point A to Point B.

Patricia Lougheed

Please see FAQ731-376: Eng-Tips.com Forum Policies for tips on how to make the best use of the Eng-Tips Forums.