Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

ESFR FIRE PUMP QUESTION 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

bob smith

Materials
Jun 12, 2020
US
So I am trying to figure out what size fire pump I need. I have a guy that is storing tires and insurance is calling for k25 at 75 psi. My flow test is 162 psi 110 psi @ 1653 gpm. Newbie here just need a little help.
Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Ask the insurance carrier…..some will not let you exceed 100% capacity…FM….some say you can go to 140%. I believe NFPA 20 says 150%.

Bob,

I may have not understood your question. Do you need to know the gpm rating of the fire pump based on the sprinkler demand? To calculate the flow you need to know the demand of the system. How many sprinklers did the insurance carrier indicate needed to be flowing? K25 head @ 75psi is about 216.5 gpm per head. 216.5 gpm is based on the square root of pressure times the K factor of the sprinkler. Are they referencing NFPA 13 or an insurance requirement?

So if they indicate 12 heads flowing( I am making the number up in this example) the sprinkler demand is 2598 gpm. So a 2500 gpm pump would work if the insurance company indicated a maximum pump rating of 150%. But if they require a max pump rating of 100% then you need to go to the next size pump 3000 gpm. Do not forget you need to add hose stream demand to the sprinkler demand.

You may want to get a fire protection engineer involved.

So its a straight NFPA system ESFR 12 heads at 75psi is what was recommended with 250 gom hose. So you are saying a 2500 gpm pump?

12 x sqrt(75) x 25 x 1.1 (10% overflow) = 2600 gpm + 250 gpm allowance = 2850 gpm