Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Estimated annual salary of mechanical engineers with three years of experience in California.

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewBSME

Mechanical
Dec 30, 2014
US
Hello All,

can you tell me what will be the estimate salary of a mechanical engineer with three years of experience in California?
I have 3 years of experience in high pressure pipe and tank design ( stress analysis). I have a feeling I should find a better job to increase my salary.
Also, what will be the increase in salary if I get PE license in mechanical engineering (thermal and fluids).
My second question is what will be the average salary of mechanical engineer with PE and BSME? in California.

Thanks all
wasim

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If,in the same situation; after 3 years I would think first to consolidate my knowledge and skills ; money wise if I can content myself with the descent minimum I would certainly do. In the meantime If I get a certification it would be first to address that objective which is for knowledge sake.

When the experience is solid, say after 5 up to 8 years of work - I would probably think of doing some benchmarking to see where I stand in terms of salary and (maybe) seek for a better situation ;

That being said I fully respect how you set your own priorities, and of course your query is very respectable.

Point is just a matter of personal perspective. By targetting knowledge (say more than 8 years of truly recognized expertise in certain field) you are working out a procedural plan to take over the whole bank; no small steps of salary increase.

"If you want to acquire a knowledge or skill, read a book and practice the skill".

What are YOUR restrictions on YOUR income?