Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Estimating civil costs 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

WARose

Structural
Mar 17, 2011
US
I'm a structural engineer and I've got a project where (as part of my estimate) I have been asked to take a stab at the civil engineer's costs. We don't have one on board yet. The good news is.....based on my reading of the local storm water regs (which may not be such a smart idea): we don't need a permit (as we are not disturbing enough ground nor are we increasing runoff); I don't think we need any kind of erosion & sediment control plan either. Basically the project is: we are adding a small building (50'x50' in plan view) to a site that is currently all pavement. (No we aren't in a flood plain.) I don't anticipate any new paving.

So what will civil likely issue? A link up with exiting utilities?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I used to do a lot of stormwater management studies for small sites < maybe 5 acres. It's been two decades... I'll see if I can dig up the spreadsheet I wrote (I know I have it; it's among 20,000 files.[pipe] It determines the runoff change between initial and final site based on 5 different surface types. Only problem is that it uses a rainfall formula that was developed for the Lindsay, Ontario region... and I don't know if you have a similar formula. I had to revise the formula for a park area north of Lindsay and had to calculate a new formula. A bit back, I uploaded a bunch of curve fitting formula... this was obtained at the time I fabricated the new program.

If I had the site data, there was about a days work in doing the calcs... slopes and the amount of the various surfaces.