Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Evaluating Deteriorating Concrete Structures

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hold0Fast

Structural
Apr 13, 2012
US
I'm a new engineer in a petro-chemical facility, and I have been tasked with evaluating the condition of a concrete structure that was built in the mid 70's. The structure and equipment has been untouched since roughly 1985, and it still supports a horizontal drum and 2 heat exchangers.

So there is a large amount of cracking, spalling, and large areas where there is exposed reinforcement. I'm looking for some recommendations on how to evaluate the existing condition of the structure and develope a recommendation for proceeding with demolition or re-use.

Thanks for your help.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

First thing you need to do is survey the damage, determine if there is any imminent danger (assuming not) and analyze the cause of the damage. Common sense is a great guide. If you go out with a clipboard and have a pissed off look on your face, that goes a long way toward credibility.
I've seen a lot of repairs that were not well thought out that ended up failing in short order. Once you've figured out the causes, you can pinpoint the repairs. If the concrete didn't have enough cover, maybe just repouring new concrete may do the trick. Maybe drainage wasn't well implemented and standing water has got to the reinforcing. If it's heat damage, you might have to go beyond the concrete. Actually 25 years is not a long life for concrete structures, so the causes are not likely to be just age.
My advice is to go out, take pictures and go over them with your friendly Sika Representative ( Or bring him or her out there.