Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Expert Witness vs Building Inspector 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

cap4000

Civil/Environmental
Sep 21, 2003
US
I am a expert witness on a very large house that was not issued a final C of O because the contractor was terminated. The building inspector allowed the general contractor to do his own design build. The architect is no longer on the job. What is the Building inspectors exposure allowing the contractor to disregard the Architects plans. The GC's workmanship is a million dollar disgrace. Any tips will greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You really need to look at the AHJ requirements for their Building Inspectors. Many AJH only require a High School Ed and maybe a ICC cert. for their starting inspectors.
From one AHJ website
"Building Inspector I/II
Education:
Equivalent to graduation from high school.
Building Inspector I
Experience:
One or more years of experience performing work in the building trades of plumbing, electrical, mechanical, foundations, and/or remodeling work. Experience performing building inspections is highly desirable.
Building Inspector II
Experience:
Two or more years of experience performing journey level work in the building trades,"

Garth Dreger PE - AZ Phoenix area
As EOR's we should take the responsibility to design our structures to support the components we allow in our design per that industry standards.

This is one for a lawyer as the liability depends on the jurisdiction and any protection that may or may not be afforded. It also gets into the controversial issue of the practice of engineering, if these are structural issues in particular, probably without a license.

All I know is that I am glad I am not that building inspector. Could be a real can of worms here.

Mike McCann
MMC Engineering