Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Explosive area question

Status
Not open for further replies.

SparkyJunior

Electrical
Aug 16, 2005
US
I work in the water/wastewater industry and I have a situation where an existing pullbox (not explosion proof) is mounted above grade of a wetwell. the wetwell is a classified area and above the wetwell is unclassified. There are conduits running from the pullbox box through the concrete roof and the cable is then connected to the motor in the wetwell. There are "seal offs" on these conduits that make removing the cable very difficult.

I am replacing the conduit entering the wetwell because it was previously sized too small. I will also be designing a new pullbox to be installed to accomodate the larger conduit. Is it possible to use a non-explosion proof junction box without seal offs on the conduits? I have heard the use of non-hardening putty, but this, I believe, is a code violation.

Any advice or direction would be appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Raw sewage wetwells are generally classified Class 1, Division 1 in the US. For any conduit leaving the wetwell, you will need sealing fittings per NEC 501.5(A)(4).

BTW, any room or enclosed area directly adjacent to a Class 1, Div 1 area has to be classified as Class 1, Div 2, unless the exceptions noted in the NEC are met.

In years past, wetwells were not always treated as a Class 1, Div 1 area, so any retrofit electrical work in these areas can open up a real can of worms since anything you touch will have to be brought up to current codes.

NFPA 820 covers classification of hazardous areas in waste water facilties, I believe.