Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Extreamly new to PLCs 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Todd15

Chemical
Aug 30, 2009
CA
Hi I am a brand new chemical engineer, I graduated 4 months ago. I need some help with getting my head straight about PLCs. I work for a very small company and we are designing our first new unit (the current unit is 15 years old). One of my tasks is figuring out what type of control system to use.

The system needs to display several temperature, flow, pressure, conductivity,level and pH measurements (about 35 in total). The unit does not require a lot of automation, there will be level control on three tanks (on/off solenoids) a few control valves for flow, temperature control through 3 heat exchangers (control valves). Some of the process is manually controlled.

My confusion comes in selecting a control system. I have looked at Honeywell, ABB, Siemens, Omron and Redlion. Redlion has the ability to connect to the internet via a cell phone network (which is extremely important) but I'm confused about if Redlion's system is considered a "PLC". It offers an HMI (touch screen also important for me) and a modular control system that has I/O, PID and digital modules which seems like all I would need for our process. Do I need to buy a PLC (not even 100% sure what a PLC is for) from another company or is the Redlion control modular system enough for our requirements.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Go for it.

It sounds like it does what you need it to do. It sounds like it has the I/O, control, HMI and connectivity you need. What do think a 'PLC' is going to add to what you've already listed?