Failure Mode of Fastener... 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrbebu

Mechanical
Aug 9, 2010
US
Hello all,

Experienced fastener failures recently and wanted to get some input as to what could've been the cause. Before I give more context and detail, I would just like to see what the trained eyes of this forum have to says solely in regards to the pattern.

Pics are of the same fastener, different angles:
Vbb0CDY.jpg

7kaaFC0.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Prefaced with I'm no expert, but...

That looks like it was loaded in a manner that put the bolt in cyclical bending inducing fatigue, beaching and ultimately a fracture.

What's the loading like? Fasteners tensioned? Slip between the faying surfaces?

Got ahead of myself - I'll stay tuned for your update.

ASM Handbook Volume 11: Failure Analysis and Prevention

This handbook has a handy visual chart that links fatigue fracture appearance resulting from various modes of loading and mean stresses.

This will just get you to the fracture mechanism (obviously fatigue), which does not explain why it failed. I recommend a metallurgical lab for that.

"Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but they are not entitled to their own facts."

azcats is correct. Cyclic loading evidenced by the clean beach marks on the right followed by fast failure on the left. The clean beach mark area indicates low stress, high cycles to failure in my opinion.

I agree with a fatigue failure, however checking the bolt preload on assembly might avoid such a failure in future.
Any idea what the bolts are tightened too? also how many bolts are in the joint? increasing bolt numbers and or size might also avoid such a failure.

“Do not worry about your problems with mathematics, I assure you mine are far greater.” Albert Einstein

Thank you everyone for your input.

Now to give more detail: