fatigue analysis to obtain the damage of a given number of cycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

LIAM_7

Structural
Apr 4, 2019
ES
Dear all,

First of all, thanks for taking the time to check my thread.

I am a beginner with fatigue analysis. I need to obtain damage due to the application of 40.000 cycles of pressure inside a pressure vessel. I am using ANSYS Mechnical for this.

The thing is that I can carry out a static structural simulation and then use the fatigue tool to estimate fatigue life of the stucture (number of cycles before failure), damage, safety factor...

But I have no idea how to impose a given number of cycles (for the static results obtained) and compute damage (should be of course D<1).

Is it possible to do this in ANSYS Mechanical?

Any tips will be highly welcome.

Mnay thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi TGS4,

Thanks for your answer.

I am following 13445-3 Direct Route.

Maybe I am wrong, nut the text mentions a procedure to obtain N (number of cycles)based on strcutural stress, correction factors (welded and unwelded regions...), but I didn't understand how to apply a certain number of cycles based on a linear elastic static stress analysis and obtain damage, safety factor...

I am using ANSYS mechanical.

Is this specified somewhere in the norm and I missed it? Or it is not possible to fix the number of cycles and get the fatigue response of the structure due to the imposition of this fixed number of cycles?

Thanks in advance for your support!

Hi hacksaw,

Thanks for your answer, but I don't get the answer to my questions:

1. Is it possible to impose a given number of cycles after a static structural analysis in ANSYS Mechanical to obtain the damage due to fatigue phenomena produced by this given number of cycles? In other words, I want to know the fatigue response of my vessel after 50000 cycles of operation.