Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Fatigue analysis used ANSYS Workbench 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chaabain

Bioengineer
Apr 26, 2007
FR
Hello everybody,

I'm a newbie user of ANSYS Workbench. I must do a fatigue analysis of three piezoelectric ceramics placed between two plates. The lower plate is fixed in all DOF and the upper plate has the possibility to move up/down and forward/backword and there is a force applied on the upper surface of this plate. What is the best way to do this analysis using ANSYS Workbench. Anybody can help°, please?

°: Even by giving me some manual or book to read about Fatigue Analysis.

Best Regards,
Chaabain

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Kellnerp,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your reply. I have a time-varying load that I would like to apply 5e+6 times on my device. The problem after I've done the simulation with ANSYS Workbench, I got this message:
"An error occurred inside the FATIGUE module: Missing stress life curve"

and I don't know how to get this problem solved.

Thank you in advance if you have any solution.

I have used the materials provided by ANSYS Engineering data such as Titanium alloy and aluminum alloy and I suppose that the stress life curves for these materials are given.

Chaabain,
The fatigue module needs fatigue data for each material. You could use the standard aluminum and steel, but these will not be even close to the ceramics you are talking about.
We're in biomed and working on fatigue of nitinol filter wires during vena cava cycles, and we had a contract P.E. run a study for us. The word is nitinol (possibly your ceramics as well) need strain based fatigue vs. stress based, so I don't believe Goodman will work.