Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

FE Help... please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

EITwannabee

Mechanical
Feb 21, 2008
US
I am trying to pass the EIT this coming April. Let me start by telling you that I have been out of college for 19 years. I have been reviewing for over 4 months on my own and now am only half way through the mounds and mounds of material (PPI Review books). I was hoping I would get through a lot more of it by now.

So it's really crunch time - less than 9 weeks left!

There is a review course given by Testmasters in Charlotte and Richmond that are possibilities that cram in material over 10 sessions close to test time. Has anyone here done that before? Does anyone have any advise on how to pass for an old EIT wannabee? I'm scared!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If you know one discipline well, you should be fine. You will need to know basic chemistry, math, and physics for the morning session, but if you know one discipline well, you should be fine. I took it knowing only structural engineering. I never had any other engineering disciplines. I had plenty of math, chem, and physics, but I answered "C" to every single thermo and electrical question on the exam and I passed the first time around. Oder a copy of the booklet they give you ahead of time and famliarize yourself with it so you know where to look for things without fumbling around.
Al,so, there are a number of questions that are so basic in concept (a traffic question comes to mind from my test), that it really resembles another kind of problem. In my case it was traffic volume which I analogized to fluids - it worked out well. There are also plenty of questions where you just need to find the equation in the booklet and they give you all the parameters - just plug and chug.
Good Luck!!

19 years... wow.. Hmmm... I would do the first one as a test drive. Dont be too upset if you fail.