Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FEA ACI 350 with non-conventional tank geometries

Status
Not open for further replies.

jacasalr

Materials
Feb 28, 2020
ES
Hello everybody!

I did not write too much in the Civil Engineering forum since I am not a Civil Engineer, however, I am needing some help on the analysis of concrete (actually, it is polymer concrete, but let's imagine is conventional concrete to be able to use the standard) tanks.

I was doing some research and was able to find that ACI 350, especifically, ACI 350-06 and ACI 350.3, gives the procedure to analyze cylindrical and rectangular tanks in operating and seismic conditions, respectivelly. However, there are many doubts I have since my problem is different and I will try to summarize them all next:

1) The geometry of my tank is not conventional, but it is "kind of close" to a rectangular tank, as you can see in the next image. The problem here is that the analytical models within the standard are related to standard tank geometries so I should not take this model for my tank, since errors may arise.

Maybe it is not properly shown in this image, but internally the tank has very big radius as the external ones. This and also the presence of the 4 supporting legs, make this geometry unconventional.

2) I am using a Finite Element software, Femap with NX Nastran, using solid elements (in this example I can use both tet and hex elements, but normally I am just able to use tet elements depending on the tank design). The problem here is that the ACI standard is based on an analytical method which relates everything to bending moments and shear forces; however, the FEA study takes as input loads and gives me stresses when using solid elements.