Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FEA and CFD "integration"

Status
Not open for further replies.

ekline

Mechanical
Jun 7, 2005
US
I am evaluating multiple FEA packages for my company. I have 6 years experience running MSC/Nastran, and a little experience with SDRC and CosmosWorks. I have narrowed the list to ANSYS, ABAQUS, and NEiNastran. The issue is that we make vacuum motors, so in addition to looking at shaft and housing dynamics, we may want to get into CFD to improve the centrifugal fan designs. I don't think the pressures we deal with affect fan shape, so I don't really need coupled physics, but should I want "integrated" FEA/CFD?

ANSYS/CFX seems like the best "integrated" CFD/FEA package. NEiNastran is good with vibration and the FEMAP interface could also be used with MAYA TMG (CFD software, although probably not as good as CFX). ABAQUS has a steady state dynamics solver that was developed for the tire industry. All three of these companies have given great support during the demo stage.

I have no experience with CFD (aside from this evaluation process) and don't know if it is reasonable for my company to get into it with our staff of 5 engineers, who will not likely devote more than 20% of their time to simulation. However, it may be something we attempt in the next year, and if we do, should the CFD package affect which FEA package I choose now?

Also, I'd appreciate any insight you can lend comparing the three packages above for structural and vibration analysis when an unbalanced rotating shaft is involved. Our motors consist of an assembly of sheet metal and injection-molded parts, steel shafts, and non-structural masses.

Much thanks for all the previous posts on related topics!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you