Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

FEA on linux 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

gyro

Jun 21, 2002
AU
Hello
I am a an aeronautical engineer and I am thinking about trying to use a linux based fea program for composites. Is there many (any) fea programs that might be capable of this kind of thing I could get of the internet? I am thinking that it is likely that I will have to try and modify some to suit.

Gyro.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi all,
A true linux user, I hate paying for stuff, and commercial FEA packages are prohibitavely expensive for me at the moment.

There are a heap of free open source FEA packages around. I am wondering if you guys have tried any decent ones.

I have tried a few and they were all crap.

With the sheer volume out there I am sure there would be something good, I just need to find it.

Freak

"as A true linux user, I hate paying for stuff"

Hmmmm....as another "true Linux user", I'm not sure if sure if that statement is a good characterization of me.

While the free and open source stuff is a great benefit for exposing yourself to a variety of tools that you use to learn new things, when it comes time to working in a professional environment, technical support and commercial software also has clear benefits.

Case in point, my home machine has a Debian based installation. I bought a hard drive to install it on and paid $15 for a Linuxant modem driver. In total, I paid about what I would have paid to upgrade to WinXP. What I got was a lot of tools like Maxima, Octave, Python, QCAD, Xfig, Open Office, GnuCash, etc. that I use for my day to day at-home stuff. It's a darned good deal for non-critical use.

However, if I were building a Linux workstation, I'd probably go with SuSE and a support contract. For software, I'd replace QCAD with VariCAD, continue to use Open Office but also purchase Crossover Office, Maybe install NASTRAN, and so on.