FIBER OPTIC CABLE SIGNAL TRANSMISSION

Status
Not open for further replies.

tszpun

Industrial
Oct 22, 2013
QA
Hello Experts,

I have very little knowledge about the FO cables. Could you clarify me the following :

I have 2 IEDs that will be connected via fiber optics.
And i have several signals to transmit through this fiber optic cable, such as : CB OPEN, CB CLOSED, ES OPEN, ES CLOSED.
I do not know, how many cores of fiber optic cables i should use.
If it was copper cable, i would consider 9 core cables (2 core per signal).
However, should i consider 1 core for 1 signal ? Meaning that, should i consider 4 core Fiber Optic cables ? Or is it possible to use only 1 core for all these 4 cables?

Thank you for clarification.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

FO cables are high bandwidth - high cost. Usually used in digital signal transmission (Ethernet or something similar). In that case you would need a remote I/O at the signal source and a poller at the end which you want the signals to arrive. Usually two fibers are used, one for transmit and the other for receive.

First select your transmitting and receiving devices. You will probably use a modulator and demodulator and send multiple signals per fibre.

--------------------
Ohm's law
Not just a good idea;
It's the LAW!

Very basic relays can transmit 8 digital points over a single serial connection using a pair of fibers.

I’ll see your silver lining and raise you two black clouds. - Protection Operations

Relay vendors usually offer a selection of pre-terminated fiber cables that plug directly into the back of the relay. An example is If your relay only includes RS232/485 ports, an example of the modulator/demodulator Waross mentioned is the
The vendor reps can help you select the best cable option, and then have the cable manufacturer to your specific length needs.

davidbeach said:
Very basic relays can transmit 8 digital points over a single serial connection using a pair of fibers.