Fibre Optic systems "for dummies" (hopefully ok to ask) - coaxial testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

therunningbruce

Chemical
Nov 17, 2020
GB
Hi,

Sorry if this basic questions and not approprate please delete..(sorry)

I am a project engineer without an EI background. but a moderate experience with this..

I'm looking to get a background basic understanding of capacities and system setup.

Why I am asking:
> Site project to upgrade a CCTV project with an exsiting Fiber optic "backbone"
> The back bone is fibre but the actual cameras are coaxial cables (so very old pre 1996 !).. so really needs an upgrade !

So my questions are.. ( i appreciate the vendors will do a lot of this work but it really helps me on projects to have a background understanding)
> What tells me if a system fiber is multimode or single mode? (labelling of cables / convertors ..)

I Can generate a list of cameras and their bit rate..
Fiber testing
> what tells me if a fibre is enough for a high resolution camera to a patch panel (say less than 100, 200 ,400 meters)
(or is this dont be stupid questions if its a fibre it has tones of capacity)
> when i send a signal from a datacenter( computer the Brian of the cctv) to a monitoring system..is that a single fibre multi fibre..?
> are all fibres equal.. say is a 1996 cable the same as a 2023 cable ? and how do i know.. whats the difference?
> if its an old cable can it be tested for capacity ? or how "good it is"
> are testing binary..e.g. pass fail or capacity..? or a shade of grey..

Coaxial cables
> ive a bunch of broken CCTV cameras..
Can i attach a "widget" and simulate a CCTV green screen to validate my CCTV Fibre is good through to the operator so i can just replace the camera on the fibre to coxial convertor.

sorry if this too basic for this forum..

thanks ..

james

Replies continue below

Recommended for you