Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Field Booster Unit Installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

DLite30

Mechanical
Jan 7, 2010
US
I'm looking for someone who has any experience with installing small (1000 hp or less) skid-mounted reciprocating field booster compressors (nat gas service)?

My experience is mainly in large concrete-slab mounted units inside compressor buildings, and I have no practical experience in these cheap, in-the-dirt installations.

I'm probably making a mountain out of a mole-hill, but it's a hole lot more expensive to estimate a mole-hill and end up having to go back and build a mountain.

Some of my main concerns are:
-Settling of the any type of dirt bed (compacted or not)
-Piping strain due to movement due to settling or the skid "walking" around.

I'm specifically interested in what preferred method you may have in setting the unit. Examples:

-Concrete slab & anchor bolts
-Compacted dirt bed(such as caliche), and what materials are preferred for this type of bed.

Any ideas you may have and are willing to share would be appreciated.

Don't post if you have speculative ideas...looking for guys with real experience.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

forgot to add that, all new installs that i speak of around here are concrete filled skid put on a compacted gravel pad, ease of install and of decommissioning of the location when field is depleted

I appreciate the offer!

The units we're working on now will be in south and east texas.

I can confirm that the skids will be concrete filled.

So you do not usually install any kind of structure (concete anchor or sleeper) to keep the unit from moving back and forth or twisting?